Song List < previous next >

Faith Is the Reason

CD $16.00
Companion book of arrangements in notation and TAB as played on the album $24.00

Album Description
Rick is joined by Jonathan Roth on this collection of 19 sacred fingerstyle guitar solos (10 recorded by Rick and 9 by Jonathan). The album includes five original works plus some great arrangememnts of traditional hymns and spirituals.

This CD began its journey to completion on 2-19-2007 with Rick's recording of “This Is My Father’s World.” As the work continued, he began experiencing difficulty with his right hand, eventually reaching a point in June of 2008 where he could progress no further. Believing that his hand would soon improve, he continued working up new arrangements in hopes of eventually completing the recording. However his hand did not improve.

After reluctantly facing the prospect of having to abandon the project altogether, Rick considered finding another guitarist to finish the CD, on which he’d made no progress since May 1, 2008. After considering several options, he approached Jonathan Roth with the idea of recording the rest of these classical guitar arrangements, which Jonathan agreed to do right after finishing his DMA degree from USC in May of 2011. The recordings were competed in September, 2011.

A companion book of all 19 solo guitar arrangements is also available. Rick considers these arrangements to be some of the best of his career.

Album Contents:

  • Because He Lives
  • This Is My Father's World
  • Love Lifted Me
  • Pass Me Not O Gentle Savior
  • There's Power in the Blood
  • I Am Thine, O Lord
  • Alleluia
  • Take My Life and Let It Be
  • El Gozo Es Mio
  • Death Will Come
  • Faith Is the Reason
  • When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
  • Near the Cross
  • I'm Just a Poor Wayfaring Stranger
  • It Is Well with My Soul
  • Yearning for Peace
  • Wade in the Water
  • Hope for the Delta
  • Be Thou My Vision

Album Reviews—What guitarists say about this album:

“The performances and the sound are just awesome. Really beautiful. You’re right—Chet’s guitar is special, but your touch really brought that out.” —John Schroeter